An owl bag for me

Occasionally I get the urge to make a new everyday bag for myself instead of rotating something out of the closet. I was interested in making a duffel-style tote from a pattern I had previously used several times. I was pleasantly surprised to find this cool owl print fabric at JoAnn’s.

DSC_0127

I decided to pair the owl print with a striped fabric that was in my collection from Michael Levine which I had originally purchased for making some glasses/phone cases.

DSC_0129

DSC_0132

This phone/glasses case ensures that you’ll retrieve both items with one grab into your purse!

To achieve a cohesive color palette, I actually bleached the two fabrics before making the duffel. Here is the result:

DSC_0136

I used some hand-dyed bias tape for the straps and edge binding. I lined the interior with fun dark print fabric. The bag has two inside pockets.

DSC_0141

I love that this bag can be completely zipped up, tossed around and no contents will fall out! I can also be machine washed and dryed.

DSC_0131

Perfect for slinging over the shoulder!

5 comments on “An owl bag for me

  1. Pam Atkinson says:

    What a great shape and such fun fabric!

  2. Brenda Borge says:

    Love it!!

  3. Deb W says:

    Lori…it was a revelation for me when I saw the results you got with bleaching that fabric!! I have tried it twice now on fabric that might have been trashed. Thanks for the inspiration…and saving me some $$$$. 😀

Leave a Reply

